Public holidays in 2022: how to maximize the long weekends

630 words3.2 min read

Here at GetGo, we love what we do (no, we’re not just saying this because our boss reads all our blog posts 😛), but like most Singaporeans, we definitely would appreciate a few days off to rest and recharge.

Thankfully, we can all look forward to having 11 public holidays and a total of 6 long weekends in the coming year of 2022! 🥳

List of Singapore public holidays in 2022

According to the Ministry of Manpower, here’s a list of gazetted Singapore public holidays for 2022:

  • 1 Jan 2022, Saturday: New’s Year Day
  • 1 – 2 Feb 2022, Tuesday and Wednesday: Chinese New Year
  • 15 Apr 2022, Friday: Good Friday
  • 1 May 2022, Sunday: Labour Day
  • 2 May 2022, Monday: Hari Raya Pusa
  • 15 May 2022, Sunday: Vesak Day
  • 10 Jul 2022, Sunday: Hari Raya Haji
  • 9 Aug 2022, Tuesday: National Day
  • 24 Oct 2022, Monday: Deepavali
  • 25 Dec 2022, Sunday: Christmas Day

6 long weekends in 2022

Out of the total 11 public holidays in 2022, three fall on a Sunday (so the following Monday will be a public holiday), two fall on a Monday, and one falls on a Friday. Plus, since Labour Day and Hari Raya Puasa fall on consecutive days, there’s going to be a four-day long weekend — woohoo! 🤩

Here’s a list of all the long weekends in 2022:

  • Good Friday: 15 – 16 Apr 2022, Friday to Sunday
  • Labour Day + Hari Raya Puasa: 30 Apr – 2 May 2022, Saturday to Tuesday
  • Vesak Day: 14 – 16 May 2022, Saturday to Monday
  • Hari Raya Haji: 9 – 11 July 2022
  • Deepavali: 22 – 24 October 2022, Saturday to Monday
  • Christmas Day: 24 – 26 December 2022, Saturday to Monday

Save the table below for a handy cheat sheet of public holidays and long weekends in 2022!

Maximize your long weekends

We’ve even put together a list of dates to apply for leave and maximise your long weekends — so get your calendars out, save the dates and start thinking about what to do for your well-deserved breaks now!

By just taking 8 days of leave in 2022, you can extend your long weekends and get a total of 8 long weekends instead of 6! Here’s how:

Chinese New Year

  • 29 Jan 2022, Saturday: Weekend
  • 30 Jan 2022, Sunday: Weekend
  • 31 Jan 2022, Monday: Take Leave
  • 1 Feb 2022, Tuesday: Chinese New Year Day 1
  • 2 Feb 2022, Wednesday: Chinese New Year Day 2

Good Friday

  • 15 Apr 2022, Friday: Good Friday
  • 16 Apr 2022, Saturday: Weekend
  • 17 Apr 2022, Sunday: Weekend
  • 18 Apr 2022, Monday: Take Leave

Labour Day

  • 29 Apr 2022, Friday: Take Leave
  • 30 Apr 2022, Saturday: Weekend
  • 1 May 2022, Sunday: Labour Day
  • 2 May 2022, Monday: Labour Day Off in Lieu
  • 3 May 2022, Tuesday: Hari Raya Puasa

Vesak Day

  • 14 May 2022, Saturday: Weekend
  • 15 May 2022, Sunday: Vesak Day
  • 16 May 2022, Monday: Vesak Day Off in Lieu
  • 17 May 2022, Tuesday: Take Leave

Hari Raya Haji

  • 8 July 2022, Friday: Take Leave
  • 9 July 2022, Saturday: Weekend
  • 10 July 2022, Sunday: Hari Raya Haji
  • 11 July 2022, Monday: Hari Raya Haji Off in Lieu

National Day

  • 6 Aug 2022, Saturday: Weekend
  • 7 Aug 2022, Sunday: Weekend
  • 8 Aug 2022, Monday: Take Leave
  • 9 Aug 2022, Tuesday: National Day

Deepavali

  • 20 Oct 2022, Friday: Take Leave
  • 21 Oct 2022, Saturday: Weekend
  • 22 Oct 2022, Sunday: Weekend
  • 24 Oct 2022, Monday: Deepavali

Christmas

  • 24 Dec 2022, Saturday: Weekend
  • 25 Dec 2022, Sunday: Christmas Day
  • 26 Dec 2022, Monday: Christmas Day Off in Lieu
  • 27 Dec 2022, Tuesday: Take Leave

There are many other ways to play around with the public holidays; for instance, if you wish to take a long trip in 2022, you can consider applying for leave from 4 – 13 May (8 days). With 2 – 3 May and 16 May being a public holiday, you can get 17 days off by taking just 8 days of annual leave!

(P.S: Check out https://getgo.sg/category/activities/ if you’re looking for some fun things to do during your long weekends.)

Looking for a way to get around while you enjoy your long weekends?

Great news: you can book a GetGo car up to 30 days in advance — so download GetGo now and use code GGHOLIDAY to get 50% off (capped at $8) your first drive!

* Code is only valid for the first booking. Other T&Cs apply.

Work hard and play hard, GetGoers!
Ella 😎

Sign up for our newsletter

Enjoy $5 off your next drive and receive our latest updates!

Accidentally unsubscribed? Click here to re-subscribe to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter

Enjoy $5 off your next drive and receive our latest updates!

Accidentally unsubscribed? Click here to re-subscribe to our newsletter!

Share Our Story

Go to Top